Planning Commission

The Planning Commission meets on the first Tuesday of each month with the Caucus at 5:30 p.m. and the meeting immediately following thereafter at Independence City Hall, 6800 Brecksville Road, Independence, Ohio.  Applicants must submit plans for any new housing development, commercial building, change of an existing zoning classification, change of grade, lot split, lot consolidation, wireless antenna or tower, and any other commercial projects to be located within the City.

You must submit by 12:00 pm ten (10) days prior to the Planning Commission Meeting:
  • Eight (8) sets of complete drawings
  • One (1) reduced set (11" x 17") of plans

There are five (5) voting members who sit on the Planning Commission, Chairman Ray Wiecek, Mayor Anthony Togliatti, Vice Mayor David Grendel, and citizen members Dale Lytkowski and William Gutermuth. City Engineer Don Ramm and City Planner Jeff Markley also sit on the Commission in an advisory capacity.

Meeting Schedule

Meets 1st Tuesday of every Month

6800 Brecksville Road

5:30 Caucus with meeting immediately following - City Hall Council Chambers
Commission members gather in an open meeting (City Hall Caucus Room) prior to meeting to review submissions.

For questions contact the Planning Commission Secretary

Debi Beal

(216) 524-1019

Planning Commission Application

2019 Scheduled Board Meetings

Calendar of all Scheduled Board Meetings

Agendas, Minutes, and Audio