If You Do Not Have Vehicle Insurance, You Cannot Drive in Ohio!
In Ohio, it is illegal to drive any motor vehicle without insurance or other financial responsibility (FR) proof. It is also illegal for any motor vehicle owner to allow anyone else to drive the owner's vehicle without FR proof.
If the box on your citation is either blank or marked "No" you did not show proof of insurance to the officer when you were stopped; therefore, you must submit it to the court with your payment.
- Proof of insurance is required on the vehicle that you were driving on the date and time you were cited.
- Failure to provide proof, may result in your driver's license being suspended for a minimum of 90 days by the Bureau of Motor Vehicles.
You can provide provide insurance proof by emailing firstname.lastname@example.org
or you can fax Independence Mayor's Court at 216-524-3878. You can also mail it to:
Independence Mayor's Court
6800 Brecksville Road
Independence, OH 44131
Section 4509.101 of the Ohio Revised Code prohibits an individual from operating a motor vehicle in Ohio without maintaining proof of FR continuously throughout the registration period with respect to that vehicle, or, in the case of a driver who is not the owner, with respect to that driver's operation of that vehicle.
The law requires financial responsibility in the minimum amount of $12,500 for bodily injury to or death of one (1) individual in any one (1) accident, $25,000 for bodily injury to or death of two (2) or more individuals in any one (1) accident, and $7,500 for injury to the property of others in any one (1) accident.
For More Financial Responsibility Information Contact:
Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles
Financial Responsibility Section
P.O. Box 16583
Columbus, Ohio 43216-6583
Courtesy of: http://www.bmv.ohio.gov/fr_laws.stm