Contact the Clerk

Debi Beal
Clerk of Council
6800 Brecksville Rd.
Independence, OH 44131
Phone: (216) 524-1008
Fax: (216) 524-1910
beald@independenceohio.org

City Council

The Legislative Branch of the City of Independence



Independence City Council consists of seven members, elected at large, for a term of two years beginning on the first day of January following their election. A Council Member may serve no more than five consecutive terms of office.



Vice Mayor Dave Grendel

grendeld@independenceohio.org



Chair of the

Streets & Sidewalks Committee

Member of the



Economic Growth & Development Committee

Member of the



Public Lands & Buildings Committee









Councilperson Patricia Wisnieski, CRC®

wisnieskip@independenceohio.org



Chair of the

Safety/Rules & Ordinances Committee

Member of the



Streets & Sidewalks Committee

Member of the



Finance Committee



Councilperson Tom Narduzzi

narduzzit@independenceohio.org



Chair of the

Public Lands & Buildings Committee

Member of the



Safety/Rules & Ordinances Committee

Member of the



Streets & Sidewalks Committee





Councilperson Bob Wagner

wagnerb@independenceohio.org



Chair of the

Finance Committee

Member of the



Economic Growth & Development Committee

Member of the Utilities & Sewers Committee


Councilperson Carl Asseff

asseffc@independenceohio.org



Chair of the



Economic Growth & Development Committee

Member of the

Community Services Committee
Member of the Utilities & Sewers Committee
Member of the

Board of Zoning Appeals


Councilperson Jim Trakas

trakasj@independenceohio.org



Chair of the



Utilities & Sewers Committee

Member of the



Community Services Committee

Member of the



Public Lands & Buildings Committee





Councilperson Kathleen Kapusta

kapustak@independenceohio.org



Chair of the



Community Services Committee

Member of the



Finance Committee

Member of the



Safety/Rules & Ordinances Committee



This legislative branch of the City of Independence is responsible for:
  • The enactment of Ordinances and adoption of Resolutions
  • The manner of posting all public notices of the enactment of legislation and City proceedings
  • The advertisement, dissemination of bid specifications and the awarding of bids
  • The recording of Council and Council Committee meetings and transcription of minutes
  • The storage of legislation, minutes and other permanent records related to the Council Office and the City
  • Providing Public Records, upon request
If you would like to search and review our City Codified Ordinances you can do so at our Codified Ordinance site Council meets on the second Tuesday of every month at 7:00 pm in the Council Chambers at City Hall. Caucus is held in the Council Conference Room at City Hall prior to the Council Meeting.



Check the Regular Council Meeting Agenda on the website, or call the Council Office (216-524-1008) for the time of Caucus. Council Committees meet on an as-needed basis.