Engineering

 

Mission Statement: "A department that will benefit not only every citizen, both residential and commercial, but also every visitor who passes through our boundaries by ensuring that our roadways and infrastructure are held the highest of standards."

The Engineering Department is responsible for the plan review and construction inspection of major commercial and residential infrastructure projects as well as new home construction.  

Another important function of the department is to oversee the annual maintenance contracts. This includes the design, bidding and inspection for Crack Seal, Asphalt Repair, Concrete Repair, Sanitary & Storm Sewer Maintenance, and Creek & Utility Maintenance.

City maps are available here:

Street Map
Zoning Map
City Campus Map

Contact this Department

Donald J. Ramm, P. E.
City Engineer
6335 Selig Drive
Independence, OH 44131
Phone: 216-524-1374
Fax: 216-573-1592
RammDo@IndependenceOhio.org
Engineering@IndependenceOhio.org

Clark Merdes, P.E.
Deputy Engineer
MerdesC@IndependenceOhio.org

Joseph Potoma, E.I.
Engineer Technician
PotomaJ@IndependenceOhio.org

Milt Gozelanczyk
Engineering Assistant
GozelanczykM@IndependenceOhio.org

Janine Boehm
Office Coordinator
BoehmJ@IndependenceOhio.org

Coral Troxell
Administrative Assistant
TroxellC@IndependenceOhio.org

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday 
8:00 am to 5:00 pm